Amateur eventers will have the opportunity to win a brand new car for the year, thanks to Mitsubishi Motors.

New name

The motoring company, which has been associated with Badminton Horse Trials for 25 years,has put forward the prize for the Mitsubishi Motors Cup, a prestigious national final open to amateur riders from all over Great Britain.

The competition will form British Eventing’s (BE) National Championship and will build upon the success of the Mitsubishi Grassroots Championships, which was created in 2009.

Hallowed turf

Like its predecessor, the Mitsubishi Motors Cupwill be held just before the world famous four-star event in early May, and will give amateur riders the chance to compete on Badminton’s hallowed turf.

An estimated 6,000 riders are expected to take part in qualifying competitions.

“Our association with equestrianism at amateur level is something we are very proud of,” said Managing Director of Mitsubishi, Lance Bradley. “We are delighted to have the opportunity to create an even more memorable experience for those taking part.”

Car for a year

The competition will once again be open to those competing at BE90 and BE100 level. The winners of each Mitsubishi Motors Cup classification will receive a brand new Mitsubishi Shogun to keep for a year, as well as prize money, trophy and a commemorative plaque to keep.

In addition, the two winners and the runners up are offered licence to use the prestigious Mitsubishi brand name in association with their horse’ names to commemorate their victory.

David Homes, Chief Executive of British Eventing expressed his thanks to Mitsubishi Motors (UK) for their continuous support of grassroots eventing. “This series continues to become an increasingly important part of our National Championship calendar, being the ultimate goal for many. To have this generous prize and package on offer enhances what is already a fantastic achievement,” he added.

The logo for the new competition incorporates an image of Alexandra Farra-Fry, the BE100 winner of the Mitsubishi Grassroots Championship in 2014.