The Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials is truly one of the greatest events in the UK, and in the world. It is one of only six CCI 5* events worldwide – the most challenging test of horse and rider. Why not find out more about this year’s event in our show from the Burghley Press Day? Click here to stream it now.

William Fox-Pitt is Burghley’s most successful competitor, having won the title six times (1994, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2011), with Virginia Elliott (née Holgate), Mark Todd and Andrew Nicholson winning five times.

Andrew Nicholson has completed Burghley Horse Trials more times than any other rider – a staggering 35 times, notching up five wins, five seconds and six thirds. Only one horse has won Burghley twice (Priceless in 1983 and 1985) but Avebury holds the record, having clinched his third win in 2014. In fact, the Andrew Nicholson-Avebury duo made history across the board, becoming the only rider, horse and rider/horse combination to have won the Burghley title for three consecutive years: 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Another incredible moment came in 2003, when Pippa Funnell became the first rider to win the Rolex Grand Slam of Eventing, a feat not repeated until 2016 when Germany’s Michael Jung clinched his title at Badminton. Who will win in 2019? Pippa Funnell has three horses entered, and will compete alongside Oliver Townend, Tina Cook, Zara Tindall, Ben Hobday, and Badminton winner Piggy French to name a few. Take a look at the full entry list here.

This year, H&C is excited to bring you highlights of the event, available to stream from Sunday 15 September at 8pm on our web and mobile apps.