The entries are in for this year’s Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials – and the start list features six previous winners.

Burghley champions

Last year’s champion Oliver Townend has a choice of three horses, out of five entries, which include his 2018 winning ride Ballaghmor Class (pictured above). Other winners back for another crack at the title are Pippa Funnell, Caroline Powell, Chris Burton, Andrew Nicholson and Mark Todd.

Both Andrew and Mark have won Burghley five times, with Andrew crowned winner three years in succession on the much loved and sadly missed grey gelding Avebury.

Ones to watch

Fellow Kiwi Tim Price is another one to watch, having been in the top five placings for the past three years.

British names to look out for include Gemma Tattersall, Laura Collett, Piggy French and European team gold medallists Tina Cook, Ros Canter and Nicola Wilson.

Alongside the experienced ‘old-timers’ are 20 young riders, who are competing at Burghley for the first time.

Challenging course

Burghley has a world-famous reputation for its challenging cross-country course, and this year looks tougher than ever. Course builder Mark Phillips has reversed the first part, so it offers a whole new set of challenges.

“It’s a track that no-one has ever ridden before, and I think it’s a track that could make the time the most difficult yet,” Mark told H&C.

You can watch this iconic equestrian event on Horse & Country as we are showing highlights on Tuesday 18 September at 8pm. Find us on Sky 184, Virgin TV 298, Horse & Country TVAmazon Video and Roku.

[bigbutton url=”https://horseandcountry.tv/subscribe/” text=”Sign up to watch Horse & Country”]